BRCA WinterNats 2012 Win for Team HB!

Fri, 10th February 2012

Ardent Raceway was the venue for the second ever running of the BRCA WinterNats Championships held late January 2012. All the top UK drivers made the trip to the midlands to race on the carpet track, a permanent track albeit with a new layout with some great new track markings. We had a very strong team of drivers all entered for the event and pre race testing had been going very well.

The weekend started with a little set back that our current 10.5 National Champion Ayrton Anderson was unwell so we knew we would be 1 car down on the top 10 challenge. The pit spaces were all arranged so we could be together and we all shared setup information and had a technical debrief before the meeting got going. The format of the meeting sees 3 rounds of FTD qualifying followed by a re-sort to split the top 32 out of the meeting and put them in a race of champions format. The remaining 70 drivers race a ‘normal' meeting and vie for the title of Winter Clubmans champion! After 3 rounds of qualifying the team had done great! We had a total of 6 HB team cars make the top 32 with Ben Cosgrove leading the way in 2nd position, Andy Moore 3rd, Stefan Chodzynski 8th, Merv Wignall 21st, Chris Clarke 25th and Dean Gibbs in 26th. James Baker was unlucky to be 33rd and miss the ROC format by under a tenth of a second!! The team and the cars were working well and we all knew we had a good shot and having some fast clean competitive finals. Which was nice to know as we all had 8 frantic races coming up with random grid slots every time and different drivers. It truly is an amazing race meeting to be involved in. It was clear after the first 2 races that Andy and Ben were set to have a great meeting. Both setting fastest laps and final times respectively for the first 2 finals on the Saturday. Over night everything was looking in good shape for another TCX national victory and HPI Flux Pro ESC prototype title. James Baker was having a good start to the Clubmans meeting with a TQ in round 1 but unfortunately he then had radio issues which caused him to end up 11th, (missing the A final and Top 32 by 1 position). A change of Radio for the last 2 finals saw James take a convincing victory in the B final setting A final winning times! The ROC meeting came down to the last round. It ended up with Andy having 6 wins and the fastest time of the meeting. Olly Jefferies also had 6 wins but with a very slow time. Ben had 5 wins with a time 1 sec behind Andy's. This all added up to Andy Moore taking the National Championship Title making a great start to 2012 and his double title defence. It's the 4th National title in a row for the HB TCX and HPI Flux Pro ESC prototype! The team are very excited at the thought of having the production HPI Flux Pro ESC, Flux Pro motors and Plazma Pro batteries for this coming outdoor season. We also have the new HB TCXX to look forwards to with many small improvements which are being tested as we speak! Many thanks to RecRC for the use of the picture!