BRCA Touring Car National Rd4 Snetterton

Thu, 23rd August 2012

Report by Ben Cosgrove The national touring car scene returned to the very flat and fast technical Snetterton circuit on the 18/19th August for round 4 of the series. All cars now are limited to 10.5 motors making the on track racing very close and any small errors are punished badly. Team leader Andy Moore was on nitro racing duty in Italy and current champion Ayrton Anderson was missing due to an injury so it was left to series regulars Stefan Chodzynski, Matt Chandler and James Baker to withhold HB honour. They were joined by Ben Cosgrove making a return to the national scene after a few years away.

The weather was absolutely glorious on the Saturday and this caught us out a little bit as we had not driven in conditions like that for a number of years. The team spent Saturday practice testing springs/shock oil/additive and we were happy that we were making good progress on the balance. As qualifying came around it got even hotter so we needed to thicken up our shocks to minimise the temperature effect of thinning the oil. All the team had some great qualifying runs on Saturday with Stef leading the way on an aggressive tyre strategy that Matt would also adopt. They used all of their tyre allocation on Saturday pushing for a good grid slot and hoping they would have done enough. James ran 2 sets and Ben only used 1 set. Stef was in the top 10 overnight with Ben in 11th. James and Matt were back in the C final area. Sunday started well again for the team and we used morning practice to double check we had gone the correct way with tyre additives. We were sure we had so went into qualifying full of confidence. Ben took a second overall in the round with Stef in 4th which was a great result for the team. This made sure of Stefs A final place and Ben needed a good last run to make the final. The last round was over before it really started for Ben as he made an error on lap 1 and rolled out of the track area. After qualification was over it was Matt in the D final, James in the C final, Ben in the B final and Stef in the A final. A nice spread over the top finals and we could all watch each other's cars and cheer for each other! We had some mixed results in the finals but all the cars looked strong on track and we were very happy with the pace in the TCX cars. The HPI Flux Pro ESC work faultlessly along with the Plazma Pro battery and Flux Pro motor. We were racing in ambient temperatures of over 30 degrees Celsius and the track temps were around 50 degrees Celsius which was a real test for the electronics. Hopefully we should have a full strength team at the last round at Mendip where we will be supporting Andy to try and win the championship as he is one of 5 drivers that can still win it. Top 10 results 1 Elliott Harper 2 Olly Jefferies 3 Chris Grainger 4 Phil Chambers 5 Colin Price 6 Matthew White 7 Chris Kerswell 8 Paul Pinkney 9 Alan Bickerstaff 10 Stefan Chodzynski HB TCX Overall results can be found here

Select your region:

Select your language:

Get more HPI! Login to MYhpi now!

Please select your region and language settings