HB HPI Challenge Series Round #3 at Freedom Park, Camarillo, CA

Tue, 25th March 2014

2014 HB HPI Challenge Round 3 at Freedom Park R/C Camarillo, CA, February 22, 2014

Minutes from the California coastline, Freedom Park in Camarillo played host to the third round of the 2014 HB HPI Challenge Series. Freedom Park’s R/C efforts are headed by the Roadrunners R/C Club, a passionate group of R/C enthusiasts that host weekly events at the facility. The HB HPI Challenge racers that arrived at the track bright and early were treated to the sight of a beautifully prepared track facility ready for a full day of racing. Weeks before the event, club president Bill Secara and his team had put in many hours to have their track ready for the highly anticipated Camarillo round. The typical picture perfect mild California winter weather had also arrived right on schedule for race day!

Roadrunners R/C Club vice president and HB Infantry Team driver Jarrod Kadonaga began our race day with the informative drivers meeting. After a group picture it was time for the HB HPI Concours Challenge. The special guest judge from America’s Tire had their hands full choosing between the numerous nicely detailed bodies. After much deliberation, Frank Liu’s slick orange and chrome HPI Ford Fiesta was judged to be the best in show for the day! Then it was on to qualifying where we would see some good battles. The top qualifiers for Round 3 were Jeremy Dee (Electric Sport), Cody Secara (Electric Pro), Mark Dawson (Electric Open), Todd Marshall (Nitro Sport), Jack DeAnda (Nitro Pro) and Frank Liu (Rallycross).

The first A-Main of the day belonged to the Electric Sport class. As the tone sounded, the top qualifier Jeremy Dee led the field while two-time class winner Chris Rodriguez tried to find his pace and catch up to Jeremy. A few laps in Chris Rodriguez got around Jeremy and never looked back. Rodriguez went on to his third consecutive Electric Sport win! In Electric Pro, Cody Secara had been battling Chin Luc and Charlie Barnes all season long. This time, Secara had the home track advantage as he piloted his HB TCX from the number one spot on the grid to the top step of the podium. Secara led from start to finish with Charlie Barnes and Chin Luc finishing in second and third. At 25 entries, the Electric open class was the most popular class of the day. HB Infantry Team driver Carlos Franco qualified 11th overall but earned a transfer spot from the B-Main, earning him a 10th place start in the A-Main. Franco had a lot of work ahead of him in a stacked A-Main field. Top qualifier Mark Dawson made a strong start and was pulling away into the distance right from the gun, with Joven Madriaga unable to hold his pace and finishing in second place. The HB TCXX of Carlos Franco fought through the field the entire six-minutes, earning himself a third place finish! Two Nitro Sport entries and one Nitro Pro entry meant that there would be a combined class on Saturday. Jack DeAnda took the overall and Nitro Pro victory, his first nitro victory to date. Mac Macasero finished second overall and claimed the Nitro Sport victory with Todd Marshall finishing third overall and second in Nitro Sport.  The sound of the nitro sedans drew in lots of attention from spectators and fellow racers alike! The final A-Main of the day belonged to the Rallycross class. Frank Liu’s WR8 Flux with his concours winning Ford Fiesta body would go up against the Mac Macasero’s WR8 3.0. The BMX racers who stopped by to spectate paid much attention to this class. The bright orange jumps laid out attracted spectators as both cars banged doors and aired out jumps for six minutes. Frank Liu would go on to take the victory with his WR8 Flux.

Please visit http://hpiracing.com/ja/article/view/2013121401 for complete rules and the schedule.
Please send your questions to Joe at Jmacasero@hpiracing.com

Select your region:

Select your language:

Get more HPI! Login to MYhpi now!

Please select your region and language settings